Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award

The  Public  Service  Award  was  created  in  2007  to  encourage,  identify, recognize, and reward public service by faculty of the University. Faculty of any of the 17 constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina are eligible. At its August  2013  meeting,  the  Board  of  Governors  unanimously approved a resolution to rename the award after Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr.

Selection Criteria

  • Faculty members of  any  of  the  17  institutions  of  the University  of North Carolina are eligible.
  • Sustained, distinguished, and superb achievement in university public service  and  outreach,  and  contributions  to  improving  the  quality  of life of the citizens of North Carolina.
  • The  creativity  and  impact  of  a  nominee’s  achievements  are  of  a magnitude  that  greatly  exceeds  the  normal  accomplishments  of  a productive faculty.